Me n My Programming

If Only I Have TIme

Lesson Learn – Make universal layout handler

In my diagram, there are three group of icons that I used; EUC icons, Test icons and Other icons.  Each of these groups/icons can be group together to identified their belonging. I used to make separate layout handler to help me organize these icons.

But as the code become more complex, the layout handler also become annoying in term of cross invoke. Sometimes wrong layout handler was called due to improper programming by me. Sometimes I did some modification to the layout structure, then I need to edit all the layout handlers. It is time consuming as I need to spend a lot of my attention to the code to make sure that I don’t call the wrong icons.

As I making this new FB diagram tool, I’m creating only one layout handler to it. I don’t care how many groups there inside the diagram’s but everything will be controlled from one place. Just add a filter up front and make sure it call the right method. With this, I will reduce my code overhead and has a single entry point for all icons.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2010 by in Life on Marama.
