Me n My Programming

If Only I Have TIme

ITSB JSP 101 ~ Maven Incompatible initial and maximum heap sizes specified

I just installed Maven 3 in my development environment and I’ve encountered this problem while testing maven:

C:\> mvn –version

Error occurred during initialization of VM
Incompatible initial and maximum heap sizes specified

As a newbie in JSP/Maven, I thought that there is something wrong in my maven installation. Apparently, I did everything right, except for one thing! Missing the ‘m’ word.

In one of the instruction, after setting the M2_HOME path, you could specify the memory for executing maven. Its something like this:

User variables: MAVEN_OPTS

Value: -Xms256m -Xmx512m

I forgot to place the last ‘m’ at the end of the maximum memory. Well, simple mistake that has a huge impact.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged .
